In case you’re w(a)ndering…

Instead of going out to celebrate my birthday, I decided to sit here and write a birthday post about this topic, a treat for me. The name of the entry just reeled me in and I just couldn’t help it…

Image

 

I found this picture while browsing through Pinterest not long ago. I actually have this as my wallpaper on my laptop. I remember writing my ‘About Me’ page last week, stating briefly about my desire to travel. I’ve dreamed of many places I’ve always wanted to experience. The mere thought of visiting is just not enough to satiate my longing to travel outside of places I’m familiar with.

Although people I’m familiar with hardly see me in one place, I’ve amazingly only been to Seattle, WA and Las Vegas, NV. Being born and raised in Los Angeles, my close relatives didn’t really feel the need to leave the city as much except for the annual trip to Seattle. It was a trip from Point A to Point B; nothing in between. The fine line between those two points were just that, long-drawn-out and static. Don’t take this the wrong way. I have no complaints about the company I was with, whenever we went to Vegas or Seattle. There were a great deal of memories with them; both good and bad. No regrets.

But… I never got the chance to wander. I’m naturally curious so it always irked me whenever there was a curfew to follow or whenever everyone else was too tired to continue walking. Those years are long gone.

As of today, I’m 23. I have much more free time. The word, wanderlust, has been lingering through since the day I got my car. The first thing I thought of was planning a road trip with a few friends, very few. Although I enjoy company, I feel restricted at times because not everyone has the same energy, the same desire to travel, the same excitement, or fervent curiosity. This is where I notice the differences most with my group of friends. 

I have a collage of places posted on my wall, places I’ve never been and places I’ve always dreamed of. I don’t just want a road trip… I want to fly out to different countries as well when I get the chance. Some friends have told me that I was being a little ridiculous, but I’m planning to get a passport within the next two years to have that as my motivation.

I’ve been told that I’m too young and that I’m too much of a dreamer, but I don’t agree. I don’t see anything wrong with being young and endeavoring those dreams.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/daily-prompt-travels-2/

 

 

5 thoughts on “In case you’re w(a)ndering…

  1. RamisaR says:

    My birthday is on the 19th! Beautiful post. When you get that passport and travel the world, be sure to link me to pictures. I would love to see the places you’ve gone, the journeys you embarked and the risks that you took. And being young and dreaming is better, in my opinion, than old and conformed to reality. As it nears my birthday (turning 16 this year), I feel sad because time is so, so valuable. But it’s my dreams that keep me alive, and thank you for your post, because now I feel better.

  2. VNlilMAN says:

    Too young? nonsense! This reminded me of a recent quote I put up: “Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.”
    I’m a free spirit too, I love to wander off and explore. So its no surprise that I absolutely loved my road trip from vancouver to portland. Although I had a plan of places I wanted to stop by, it was nice to just go with the flow. Stopping by any random place that seemed interesting along the way.

    Where would you go on your road trip?

Leave a Reply

